Bibeksheel not taking part in elections of president, vice-president « Image Khabar

Bibeksheel not taking part in elections of president, vice-president

Kathmandu, March 13 (RSS): The Bibeksheel Sajha Party has decided not to take part in the elections of a new President and Vice President.

In a press statement today, Bibeksheel’s State Assembly parliamentary party province 3 leader Ramesh Poudyal shared the information about this.

 The party has three members elected under the proportional representation system in Province 3’s State Assembly. Earlier, the party handed the rights to take a decision on the matter to the province-level leadership which met Monday, deciding not take part in the both elections.

 “The Bibeksheel Sajha is in favour of a directly elected prime minister and a constitutional president. In the parliamentary practice, the role of constitutional president should be neutral, impartial and above the partisan interests. But, some of the decisions had crossed the jurisdictions,” the statement reads.

 Presently, the presidential election is underway at the New Baneshwor-based Federal Parliament Building and two candidates–incumbent President Bidya Devi Bhandari and Nepali Congress leader Kumari Laxmi Rai–are in the race for the post. The election that began at 10:00 am will conclude at 3:00 pm.

Meanwhile, Rastriya Prajatantra Party  ( RPP) led by Kamal Thapa has announced its support for presidential candidate Bidya Devi Bhandari. In a press statement today, party spokesperson Bhuwan Pathak said the party decided to vote in favour of the presidential election. Earlier, the CPN (UML) agreed to repeat incumbent Bhandari as the party’s candidate for the post.